Login Register WSPC 2017 • Schedule • Participation • Location • WSC • WPC • Contact •Search •Recent





18 PIC
   WSC and WPC 2017 -> WPC 2017 Instructions Booklet16 posts • Page 1 of 1 • 1
Nikola
Subject: Re: 18 PIC @ 2017-10-10 12:27 PM (#23645 - in reply to #23623) (#23645) Top


Sudoku Day Author

Posts: 93
20202020
Location: Serbia
About duration of this round, it stands 10:10-11.50 and 80 minutes. Which one is correct?
prasanna16391
Subject: Re: 18 PIC @ 2017-10-10 2:39 PM (#23652 - in reply to #23645) (#23652) Top


WSPC Organizer

Posts: 1315
1000100100100
Location: India
Nikola - 2017-10-10 12:27 PM

About duration of this round, it stands 10:10-11.50 and 80 minutes. Which one is correct?


80 minutes is correct. Will need to get the schedules fixed. This will be done. For now you may refer here for the reflection of the changes roughly (some spacing considerations are included so it isn't just moving 20 minutes backward everywhere) - http://wspc2017.logicmastersindia.com/?g=Schedule2017
rob
Subject: Re: 18 PIC @ 2017-10-11 11:56 PM (#23673 - in reply to #23486) (#23673) Top


Classics & Regions (PR 2016/17) Author

Posts: 122
10020
Location: Germany
Re Candy Crush, I read the rules to say that the solution can't contain three or more equal letters in a straight line, horizontal or vertical. On the other hand, elimination happens for any group of edge-connected equal letters of size at least three, e.g., for an L-trimino. Is that correct?

Second, why can't the top two rows of the example solution be ADBDBB,AADXDC? Is it because swapping e.g. R1C1 and R1C2 doesn't for a "new" group?
tamz29
Subject: Re: 18 PIC @ 2017-10-12 10:28 AM (#23676 - in reply to #23486) (#23676) Top




Posts: 150
1002020
Location: Thailand
(3,4) Shards: Can some of the fragments that make up each shard be connected by a point? (Ie. could there be a shard where, say, three fragments are connected by edges and one "hanging"
off a vertex?)
(21,22) Grapevine: Can the branch enter/leave a grape from a triangular cell?
prasanna16391
Subject: Re: 18 PIC @ 2017-10-12 11:27 PM (#23678 - in reply to #23673) (#23678) Top


WSPC Organizer

Posts: 1315
1000100100100
Location: India
rob - 2017-10-11 11:56 PM

Re Candy Crush, I read the rules to say that the solution can't contain three or more equal letters in a straight line, horizontal or vertical. On the other hand, elimination happens for any group of edge-connected equal letters of size at least three, e.g., for an L-trimino. Is that correct?

Second, why can't the top two rows of the example solution be ADBDBB,AADXDC? Is it because swapping e.g. R1C1 and R1C2 doesn't for a "new" group?


Not an L- Trimino. The rule says "horizontally or vertically consecutive cells" which means three letters in a line along a row, or a column. This may answer the second part too?
prasanna16391
Subject: Re: 18 PIC @ 2017-10-12 11:30 PM (#23679 - in reply to #23676) (#23679) Top


WSPC Organizer

Posts: 1315
1000100100100
Location: India
tamz29 - 2017-10-12 10:28 AM

(3,4) Shards: Can some of the fragments that make up each shard be connected by a point? (Ie. could there be a shard where, say, three fragments are connected by edges and one "hanging"
off a vertex?)
(21,22) Grapevine: Can the branch enter/leave a grape from a triangular cell?


3,4: No. For a shard all its fragments are edge-connected.

21,22: No. Vines travel via edges only. Its not explicitly mentioned though. We will make a note of this during Q&A.
kishy72
Subject: Re: 18 PIC @ 2017-10-14 3:24 PM (#23694 - in reply to #23486) (#23694) Top




Posts: 306
100100100
Location: india
Puzzle 11,12 : Partiti

The rules state same digits cannot be placed in cells touching diagonally.Can same digits be placed in a single cell ? For instance, can the 2 sum be 1,1 if it doesn't violate the no touch rule with other cells?This case doesn't occur in the example .
prasanna16391
Subject: Re: 18 PIC @ 2017-10-14 3:30 PM (#23695 - in reply to #23694) (#23695) Top


WSPC Organizer

Posts: 1315
1000100100100
Location: India
kishy72 - 2017-10-14 3:24 PM

Puzzle 11,12 : Partiti

The rules state same digits cannot be placed in cells touching diagonally.Can same digits be placed in a single cell ? For instance, can the 2 sum be 1,1 if it doesn't violate the no touch rule with other cells?This case doesn't occur in the example .


No. We will clarify this at Q&A too.
UllaE
Subject: Re: 18 PIC @ 2017-10-14 6:46 PM (#23696 - in reply to #23486) (#23696) Top




Posts: 8

Location: Finland
15,16 Maximal Archipelago

Having R6C2 as sea and R7C1 + R7C3 as land and everything else as in example solution - would that be viable solution? If not, please explain why.
prasanna16391
Subject: Re: 18 PIC @ 2017-10-14 10:08 PM (#23697 - in reply to #23696) (#23697) Top


WSPC Organizer

Posts: 1315
1000100100100
Location: India
UllaE - 2017-10-14 6:46 PM

15,16 Maximal Archipelago

Having R6C2 as sea and R7C1 + R7C3 as land and everything else as in example solution - would that be viable solution? If not, please explain why.


It wouldn't because then there is no case within a and b where the given Sea cell in R4C4 has to be a Sea cell.
UllaE
Subject: Re: 18 PIC @ 2017-10-14 10:16 PM (#23698 - in reply to #23697) (#23698) Top




Posts: 8

Location: Finland
Thanks, didn't notice that :-)
16 posts • Page 1 of 1 • 1
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version